5 ms·
It definitely gives you much more information than you had when you started... It really shouldn't display name/photo. An example of a poor trade for experienc
by jamdavswim 13y ago
It definitely gives you much more information than you had when you started... It really shouldn't display name/photo.
An example of a poor trade for experience vs security.
- dubfan 13y agoIt depends on the privacy settings of the user. I just tried this on myself and it did not show my name or photo. The most conspicuous thing it showed was a starred-out version of my old university email address, but that's my own fault for leaving it there.
- gergles 13y agoI have my settings as restrictively-set as possible, and it showed my name, photo, and 'primary network'.
- nhm 13y agoFacebook has an explanation on that page: > You can see your name and profile picture because you're using a computer network you've logged in on before. At least, that's what I saw when I did it on myself in an incognito tab.
- gergles 13y agoThat explanation does not inspire confidence -- I was able to retrieve the profile picture, name, networks, and barely-obfuscated email addresses of several contacts for whom it is impossible they have logged in from my network (on a VPN to the office) or my computer.
- jkrems 13y agoAre they "associated" with you? E.g. are they people Facebook could know you are friends with etc.?