6 ms·
Correction: you _deactivated_ your account. Facebook keeps your data.
by aMoniker 15y ago
Correction: you _deactivated_ your account. Facebook keeps your data.
- noahc 15y agoNo, deleted and deactivated are two different things on Facebook[1]. You may disagree with the definition, but as it is currently used on Facebook he is being accurate. Facebook doesn't make it clear about what types of data they do and don't keep beyond saying they disassociate you from the information, but retain some for 'technical' reasons. I can't really imagine what those would be. [1]http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=125338004213029#What-is-the-difference-between-deactivation-and-deletion http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=125338004213029#What-is-th...?
- fl3tch 15y ago> but retain some for 'technical' reasons Probably the thing about databases getting fragmented, so they delete large swaths of data and optimize all at once, rather than piecemeal when the users delete it. It's well known that when you "delete" a photo from Facebook, if you save the direct link to it first, you can still access it (go ahead, try it). But the one time I tried it, the photo did finally disappear after about a week (although I have seen some people claim that they could access deleted content via direct links for up to 6 months).
- andrewfelix 15y agoYeh I deleted it. Had to jump through hoops to do it. Even going so far as to block all FB related traffic, plugins etc to avoid re-activating the account. They may have kept some of my data, but there's no way for me to re-activate the account.