5 ms·
"... if you go to an application's profile page, you can see a list of your friends who also have that app installed, essentially getting a unintentional peek a
by volare 16y ago
"... if you go to an application's profile page, you can see a list of your friends who also have that app installed, essentially getting a unintentional peek at their browsing habits."
This creeps me out more than anything else Facebook has done yet.
- timmaah 16y agoThis is not a new feature.
- kevinh 16y agoYeah, they could see apps you authorized before. Not sites that add themselves, essentially showing your web browsing habits to all your friends.
- timmaah 16y agoSee my other comments. Apps are not randomly being "Authorized" and you can only see your friends who have "Authorized" an app. Nothing has changed..
- kevinh 16y agoYou're the only one who has that experience. I didn't authorize anything and I have 5 extra apps in my profile.
- timmaah 16y ago"Recently Used" != "Authorized"
- volare 16y agoThe unsettling fact remains: Facebook is tracking users' activity on third party sites without express permission (though perhaps it's in the TOS; I'm not sure). And evidently, they're somewhat incompetent at hiding that information.
- jedbrown 16y agoIt would appear that "Recently Used" is a subset of "Authorized". In any case, they are being authorized without even notifying the user.
- maineldc 16y agoI disagree that apps are not being "Authorized". I never use facebook connect for any site and I found Gizmodo listed. Also, I think just the fact that Yelp, Pandora, etc. had access to my details without permission is also "Authorizing Apps" without my permission.