6 ms·
No, like specific apps that have been granted full disk access etc lose their permissions. It’s hell for IT, constantly breaks AV. I would not characterize that
by mcmcmc 6d ago
No, like specific apps that have been granted full disk access etc lose their permissions. It’s hell for IT, constantly breaks AV. I would not characterize that as reverting to a default. More often it’s a breaking change for how the security model works that ends up requiring reauthorization
- threetonesun 6d agoAh, sure, it's annoying but it's never giving new permissions you didn't give it before. And yes "revert to default" is probably not what's happening, but reverting to forcing a specific permission grant when the existing one was superceeded or replaced.
- mcmcmc 6d agoFair, it’s still an example of them not respecting user configuration
- lbreakjai 6d agoI understand the rationale. The app you granted full disk access three months ago might have significantly changed. You can't reset the permissions for a given app after every update, as you might end up prompting the user three times per week.
- croon 6d agoThe alternative would be keeping a permission granted for an app that might have had an update introducing nefarious behavior, whether intentional or not. Annoying yes, but least bad.