5 ms·
As an FYI you can recover from force pushes to GitHub using the GitHub UI[0] or their API[1]. And if you force push to one of your own machines you can use the
by nstj 5mo ago
As an FYI you can recover from force pushes to GitHub using the GitHub UI[0] or their API[1].
And if you force push to one of your own machines you can use the reflog[2].
[0]: https://stackoverflow.com/a/78872853 https://stackoverflow.com/a/78872853 [1]: https://stackoverflow.com/a/48110879 https://stackoverflow.com/a/48110879 [2]: https://stackoverflow.com/a/24236065 https://stackoverflow.com/a/24236065
- bombcar 5mo agoAnd as a double FYI this means a force push does not permanently delete sensitive data! Beware. Rotate that API key, even if it's a pain in the arse.
- nstj 5mo agoThis is a lesser understood corollary of my comment :). Thanks for calling it out ;)
- globular-toast 5mo agoThat goes for any time you send data to a third party or over a channel you don't control. Compromised is compromised. There is no going back. I hate things like "email recall" in Outlook or deleting messages in Teams etc because it trains normies into thinking you can recover from a compromise.