7 ms·
TBH, it looks to me as a trick to enable extra usage by baiting me with $20 credit by toggling on the feature that lets me burn another $20 without realizing it
by 2bluesc 6mo ago
TBH, it looks to me as a trick to enable extra usage by baiting me with $20 credit by toggling on the feature that lets me burn another $20 without realizing it.
Toggling it again to turn it off immediately after (which I assume most people will miss) seems to guard against this.
- throwuxiytayq 6mo agoBy contrast, OpenAI simply multiplied your subscription usage by 0.5x for the past month. For all the shit they’re rightfully getting, Codex is so nice it’s actually weird.
- pxc 6mo agoAnd you can also use the long context version on their cheaper plans, where as with Anthropic it's only available to enterprise and Max customers
- DetroitThrow 6mo agoIt eats more tokens than before, but is still more token efficient than Claude Code.
- outside1234 6mo agoOpenAI is in deep trouble and are doing everything they can to get back in the game. If they get back in, they will monetize.
- furyofantares 6mo agoAuto-reload is off by default, is it not? As in, what you're toggling on is "use my extra usage balance" not "automatically spend money by adding to my extra usage balance".
- 2bluesc 6mo agoI read it as they'll invoice me up to $20. Not sure?
- furyofantares 6mo agoI don't believe so. I'll explain how I think it works. [x] Turn on extra usage to keep using Claude if you hit a limit. ^^^ This toggles whether it will automatically spend from your pre-paid balance when you hit limits. $20 Monthly spend limit ^^^ I'm not actually sure which this toggles, but I think it is either a maximum amount to reload per month, OR I think it is a maximum amount of your balance to spend per month. I think it's how much to auto-reload but it is a confusing setting. Auto-reload off ^^^ This toggles whether it auto-reloads. It accepts a trigger balance and how much to top it off to. This setting shows the following text, which is You agree that Anthropic will charge the card you have on file in the amount above on a recurring basis whenever your balance reaches the amount indicated. To cancel, turn off auto-reload.
- gre 6mo agoYes it works exactly like that. Beware
- joecot 6mo agoThat's not the purpose of the trick. The purpose is to soften the blow for turning off support for OpenClaw and other third party connectors. Now to use OpenClaw et all you'll have to pay at extra usage pricing, it won't count against your normal quota. I'd actually be happy with this if they turned OpenCode support back on.