6 ms·
It is deleted from the server only, it stays on your devices, and is also synced to new device when you add one.
by gardenerik 1y ago
It is deleted from the server only, it stays on your devices, and is also synced to new device when you add one.
- raybb 1y agoWhere did you see this? Or just learned from experience?
- kseistrup 1y agoFAQ: What happens if I turn on “Delete old messages from server”? https://delta.chat/en/help#what-happens-if-i-turn-on-delete-old-messages-from-server https://delta.chat/en/help#what-happens-if-i-turn-on-delete-...
- gardenerik 1y agoCannot find it now, but that's how it was discussed at the time when chatmail server became a thing. It is also how it is configured in chatmail: https://github.com/chatmail/relay/blob/96a1dbac08441034c5990579edd12aa4801cb058/cmdeploy/src/cmdeploy/dovecot/expunge.cron.j2#L3 https://github.com/chatmail/relay/blob/96a1dbac08441034c5990... https://github.com/chatmail/relay/blob/96a1dbac08441034c5990579edd12aa4801cb058/chatmaild/src/chatmaild/ini/chatmail.ini.f#L24 https://github.com/chatmail/relay/blob/96a1dbac08441034c5990... You obviously must trust that the server runs this configuration, but you can always run your own chatmail, or regular postfix. (If you don't need "federation" with other mail servers, you don't even need port 25 open). However, you can also configure your app to delete messages from the server sooner.
- kseistrup 1y agoThe FAQ reads: »By default, Delta Chat stores all messages locally on your device. If you e.g. want to save storage space at your mail provider, you can configure Delta Chat to delete old already-received messages on the server automatically. They still remain on your device until you delete them there, too.« https://delta.chat/en/help#what-happens-if-i-turn-on-delete-old-messages-from-server https://delta.chat/en/help#what-happens-if-i-turn-on-delete-...