9 ms·
>Trust and privacy are at the core of our products. We give you tools to control your data—including easy opt-outs and permanent removal of deleted ChatGPT chat
by yoaviram 1y ago
>Trust and privacy are at the core of our products.
We give you tools to control your data—including easy opt-outs and permanent removal of deleted ChatGPT chats (opens in a new window) and API content from OpenAI’s systems within 30 days.
No you don't. You charge extra for privacy and list it as a feature on your enterprise plan. Not event paying pro customer get "privacy". Also, you refuse to delete personal data included in your models and training data following numerous data protection requests.
- baxtr 1y agoThis is a typical "corporate speak" / "trustwahsing" statement. It’s usually super vague, filled with feel-good buzzwords, with a couple of empty value statements sprinkled on top.
- deleted 1y ago[deleted]
- that_was_good 1y agoExcept all users can opt out. Am I missing something? It says here: > If you are on a ChatGPT Plus, ChatGPT Pro or ChatGPT Free plan on a personal workspace, data sharing is enabled for you by default, however, you can opt out of using the data for training. Enterprise is just opt out by default... https://help.openai.com/en/articles/8983130-what-if-i-want-to-keep-my-history-on-but-disable-model-training https://help.openai.com/en/articles/8983130-what-if-i-want-t...
- agos 1y agowhat about all the rest of the data they use for training, there's no opt out from that
- bartvk 1y agoIndeed. Click your profile in the top right, click on the settings icon. In Settings, select "Data Controls" (not "privacy") and then there's a setting called "Improve the model for everyone" (not "privacy" or "data sharing") and turn it off.
- bugtodiffer 1y agoso they technically kind of follow the law but make it as hard as possible?
- bartvk 1y agoPersonally I feel it's okay but kinda weird. I mean why not call it privacy. Gray pattern, IMHO. For example venice.ai simply doesn't have a privacy setting because they don't use the data from chats. (They do have basic telemetry, and the setting is called "Disable Telemetry Collection").
- atoav 1y agoNot sharing you data with other users does not mean the data of a deleted chat are gone, those are very likely two completely different mechanisms. And whether and how they use your data for their own purposes isn't touched by that either.