6 ms·
Facebook Adds Option To Delete Your Account (Not Deactivate)
- _exec 14y agoThis has been the case for years now. It's not new. Is there something I'm perhaps missing? On a side note, does anybody know if this is a 'true' delete and not just yet another 'set deleted=true where profileid=xyz'?
- nano81 14y agohttps://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=125338004213029#What-is-the-difference-between-deactivation-and-deletion https://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=125338004213029#What-is-t...?
- _exec 14y agoAh yes. Messages are never deleted though.. ----- Chat. This section showed some old chat conversations. All data was rather recent, which means that chat messages were deleted sooner or later. It is unclear if this section is still existing after facebook recently merged its chat and messaging function into one, but seems if all chat messages are now following the rules of normal messages. Note: According to facebook’s privacy policy messages will never be deleted. Example: ... Author Max Mustermann (123456789) Recipients Petra Musterfrau (987654321) Sent 2011-06-06 19:05:56 UTC Body Hey, do you want to stay at my place tonight? --- http://europe-v-facebook.org/EN/en.html http://europe-v-facebook.org/EN/en.html
- ender3989 14y agoThis has existed for quite some time... At least over a year.
- pagekalisedown 14y agoI'm tempted to notify all my friends, delete my account, recreate it under a pseudonym, and re-add my friends, while being much more careful this time around with what I share and my privacy settings.
- _exec 14y agoNo matter what you do, you cannot not accept messages from people you have befriended...and those are never deleted.
- true_religion 14y agoI don't think this is news.