8 ms·
> For users, if you enable this feature, but then lose your password, you are entirely screwed and Apple can't help you. Exactly the same with the phone if you
by mapgrep 5y ago
> For users, if you enable this feature, but then lose your password, you are entirely screwed and Apple can't help you.
Exactly the same with the phone if you forget your PIN/passcode. So they already do this.
- raxxorrax 5y agoEspecially on Apple devices. You cannot just reset the device if it was ever associated with an account and you don't know the password anymore. You must contact Apple support. Some people still want to employ Apple devices in a business environment. The amount of money that is spend on their devices is just insane.
- chrisfinazzo 5y agoFirst, while the "Erase after X unsuccessful attempts" feature exists, I've never used it and really don't recommend anyone else do so unless you are exceptionally careful. Second, my comment was meant in the context of iCloud - if you don't enable the feature as described, Apple may be able to decrypt and recover something, but if you do go all the way to the logical end, yes, you're out of options.
- mapgrep 5y agoMy point is, Apple has already crossed the rubicon of allowing users to lock themselves out of their data. On an iPhone, regardless of auto-erase settings, if you lock yourself out, Apple cannot help you.