5 ms·
I will try to set some context here. I created my personal account long before Trello was acquired by Atlassian. It did not have any SSO at that point and the l
by shashanktomar 6y ago
I will try to set some context here. I created my personal account long before Trello was acquired by Atlassian. It did not have any SSO at that point and the login was with username and password. At some point, while working on a side project and to share it with a teammate, I attached a secondary email to my account and created few boards under it. This email was my companies email @company.com
The multiple account login used to work the same way it works for github now. The boards were very clearly labeled under the email/username they were created and clearly had the ownership well defined. As soon as I left the company and my email was disabled, all the boards under that email disappeared from my account. This was expected and kept using my primary email (i always used to login with my username) and completely forgot about an attached secondary email (which anyways is now deactivated). Fast forward 5 years with tons of personal boards under this account, one morning it stopped working without any notification (yes i revised my spam to be sure about it) with all my data gone.
- pdonis 6y ago> At some point, while working on a side project and to share it with a teammate, I attached a secondary email to my account and created few boards under it. This email was my companies email This makes it seem like it's the third of the options I mentioned (personal account which happens to have a work email as an alternate email). But what you say a little further on (quoted below) makes it clear that it's the second: you used the same Trello account for both personal and work items. If the account had access to the company's boards, it's not just your personal account any more. It's a mixed work/personal account (which, as I and others in this thread have said, is not a good idea). > As soon as I left the company and my email was disabled, all the boards under that email disappeared from my account. But you apparently didn't remove that company's email from the Trello account. That's water under the bridge now, but in any case it seems like the company ought to be fine with telling Atlassian that you're no longer working for them and the email under their domain can be removed from the account. What you seem to be wanting, though, is for Atlassian to just go ahead and erase that company's email from the account, or otherwise disconnect that account totally from the company so you can use it again, without any agreement from the company that that's ok. I don't see why Atlassian should do that.
- mercer 6y agoSurely the sensible option would be for Atlassian to allow you to keep all your personal boards and only show the work-email boards if you sign in, or allow you to 'disconnect' from those? And if this is technically difficult to do (because boards are not obviously linked to email addresses, or whatever), then that's still on them, but also solvable: allow you to remove BigCo email and just not give you access to any BigCo boards. If you happened to have created a board yourself for BigCo, then that's still available to you. And if that's not acceptable for Atlassian, they should make boards more obviously connected to email addresses. Or something similar. The equivalent to the current situation would be to allow you to add BigCo email to your personal Drobox account (for ease of logging in), and then remove you from the entire account when BigCo revokes your access. That's extremely unexpected!
- yardie 6y agoAnd in fact this used to be how it worked. Work boards showed up in a separate section that was clearly defined as enterprise. So my private work boards, team boards, and template boards were there. My family and personal boards were under my username. And it worked like this for years. Sans souci
- mercer 6y agoSo we can conclude that Atlassian started its journey fucking up Trello?
- yardie 6y agoNot only did they fuck it up. It was implicitly used as a feature. If you can attach multiple email accounts to a service then of course you would attach your work email to it. The real devious behaviour was assigning your entire account to another entity to manage and without your permission. I've had to create a new account, ask the enterprise account manager to remove my account, and move my cards to another account. I've been using the account for 9 years and created many small integrations. Why would I want to give that up? Now my workflow is broken because the Trello app only allows one login so I have to decide is it going to be work or personal that I'm viewing because I can't do both.