4 ms·
From the article: "When you opt out of facial recognition on Facebook, the company will delete your template, meaning it will have no original reference point
by blancNoir 7y ago
From the article:
"When you opt out of facial recognition on Facebook, the company will delete your template, meaning it will have no original reference point for your face and therefore cannot find your face at all."
...
When people turn off their face recognition setting, we can no longer create a face template for them for any purpose, including A.I. research,” the spokesperson told OneZero.
- rhacker 7y agoI think d10 is saying that, by deleting your face template, they will still have "unnamed person 7749" in 45 different photos, which happen to be YOU, which they won't every say again, but you're still in there, linked up to all those people... possibly creating new relationships between people that don't have the same friends but went to the same wedding, all because you're in both sets of photos.
- x0x0 7y agoExactly. They're not promising not to create co-occurrence matrices with a specific unknown user as far as I can see.
- pesenti 7y agoNo we don't. See https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=20903110 https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=20903110
- rhacker 7y agoOk, sounds good and I belive you - it is nice hearing from the team directly involved in this project.
- llarsson 7y agoSounds like they'd have to have my face on file so that they'd be able to identify "oh yeah, this is one who has opted out". How else would it work?