6 ms·
I'm still not clear about what the actual change in behavior even is - seeing some statements on Twitter from someone on the dev team, it sounded to me like the
by ewjordan 8y ago
I'm still not clear about what the actual change in behavior even is - seeing some statements on Twitter from someone on the dev team, it sounded to me like there isn't actually any difference, just a UI change to show which Gmail account is currently logged into.
If that's really all it is, I don't really get what people are upset about. Specifically, if there's no additional data being stored connected to your account (which is what one of the devs seemed to be very explicitly claiming) until you deliberately connect Chrome to your account, this seems like a whole bunch of drama over a misunderstanding.
If I'm wrong, then that's a separate matter. Personally, I appreciate the syncing features, but I completely understand why people would be bothered, and it's definitely something they should roll back.
- deleted 8y ago[deleted]
- zumbof 8y agoNow if you log into a Google account, Chrome is logged into that same account as well. Also if you clear all cookies, cookies from Google aren't cleared. Some people (myself included) don't like that.
- svat 8y agoBut this is only if you already have Chrome Sync ("logging in to Chrome") turned on and enabled, correct? Because I have a bunch of different Chrome profiles that I use for different purposes, and I don't see the ones that I use for particular Gmail accounts getting logged in to Chrome.
- daurnimator 8y ago(not a chrome user, but:) my understanding is that now if you log into google (e.g. a gmail account), you automatically get logged into chrome, including Chrome Sync.
- kevingadd 8y agoYes, you automatically get logged into chrome. Supposedly sync will not automatically be enabled, but if you ever enabled it in the past it will be turned back on for your chrome session as well. It's unclear what happens to old (pre-login) history and cookies when this happens.
- tptacek 8y agoThat is not at all my understanding. If you don't have sync enabled, nothing automatically enables sync. You have to go through a large confirmation dialog (with an "undo" button) to enable sync.
- bigiain 8y agoYet...</cynical mode>
- macintux 8y agoYou’re being downvoted, but this is exactly the concern that a sweeping change like this provokes. Who’s to say Google won’t decide that a lack of sync is a problem they can silently fix too?
- tptacek 8y agoWho's to say they aren't going to backdoor Chrome to pop a shell on your box next time you search Google? Who's to say Mozilla won't do the same?
- reitanqild 8y agoThe devil has enough advocates. The turn on sync thing is already reported to be a dark pattern. Also see: https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=18062082 https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=18062082
- 8y ago
- TheKarateKid 8y ago> Also if you clear all cookies, cookies from Google aren't cleared. Wait, WHAT? Are you talking about locally or in sync? I don't believe Sync ever included cookies, and there's no indication on the Clear Browsing Data tool that Google cookies won't be cleared if "All Time" is selected.
- Sidnicious 8y agoI work at Google, but all statements/opinions are my own. My understanding is that there were two changes: 1. General responsibility for authenticating to Google services has been moved to Chrome, and being logged into Google is equivalent to being logged into Chrome. If sync is set up, logging back into Google also fixes your sync session, if it was broken (common — the warning in the toolbar is easy to ignore). 2. Sync has been separated from login as a Chrome feature, so that you can log into Google services without syncing Chrome’s data. Confusion between being logged into Google (the Chrome new tab page looks a heck of a lot like the Google home page) and being logged into Chrome was a real problem. I’m not suggesting that this is the right solution… or the wrong one; this is weird territory. It raises a question for both users and browser vendors: What does it mean to be logged into a web browser?
- sm64 8y agoThat's just a diplomatic way of saying "so what if we logged you in". Well you don't understand how distrustful people are of Google these days, especially power users. I wouldn't give a byte of information about me to Google if I don't have to.
- bigiain 8y ago> It raises a question for both users and browser vendors: What does it mean to be logged into a web browser? And who - exactly - ever asked for the ability to "log into a web browser"? And what benefits are there for the user? There would be zero confusion about "Am I logged in to Google or logged in to Chrome?" without the unwanted and unexpected existence of a "logged in to a web browser" status. This is privacy disaster over a feature nobody wants. Except for the people who actively profit from privacy disasters...
- glennpratt 8y agoI've happily used Chrome's Sync features for years with separate profiles for personal and $job. I use it across multiple devices daily. https://chrome.google.com/sync https://chrome.google.com/sync I appreciate people have different concerns, but also just completely fail to grasp them in this case.